Choose Your Future

English Languages History Design & Technology
Maths BTEC Social Science P.E
Science Geography Business Studies R.E
Computing Performing Arts
Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award

SPH has an established DofE programme, run by experienced and professional staff. The Gold Level of the Award is on offer to students in the Sixth Form (typically undertaken by Year 12s). Striving for the Gold Award, especially alongside the demands of A Levels and BTECs, requires commitment, maturity and independence.  It represents the true pinnacle of the DofE Award Scheme and it is no understatement to say that successful completion marks a young person out as being in possession of true character. The journey a person takes to gaining the Award also provides invaluable material when it comes to university applications and personal statements.

Students are required to work on five different Sections for Gold DofE: a physical activity, voluntary service, learning a new skill, an expedition, and a residential. More information about the Sections and suitable activities can be found at

The School organises the Expedition Section, which includes a Training Weekend (September/October) and a Practice Expedition (Easter) to the Brecon Beacons. The Qualifying Expedition (July) uses the Lake District. The School provides tents, maps, compasses and stoves to participants.

Places are limited on the Gold programme, so we ask that all students applying for the Gold Award have already fully completed their Bronze Award at least. If students have completed their Bronze with another school or organisation (eg Scouts or Guides), they will be able to transfer to SPH to undertake Gold.  Information about the application process, along with full costs and dates of the expeditions, are shared at the start of the academic year.

For students who have never participated in the DofE before, it is advised that they speak to the Coordinator (Mr Richards) about the options available.  In the past, Sixth Form students have been able to take part in the Silver Level of the Award, although this is based on numbers.